Waiting on Wednesday – Monstrous Motherhood: Eighteenth-Century Culture and the Ideology of Domesticity by Marilyn Francus

“Waiting on Wednesday” is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re really excited about.

Monstrous Motherhood: Eighteenth-Century Culture and the Ideology of Domesticity
by Marilyn Francus
To be released Dec 3, 2012

Goodreads says: Although credited with the rise of domesticity, eighteenth-century British culture singularly lacked narratives of good mothers, ostensibly the most domestic of females. With startling frequency, the best mother was absent, disembodied, voiceless, or dead. British culture told tales almost exclusively of wicked, surrogate, or spectral mothers–revealing the defects of domestic ideology, the cultural fascination with standards and deviance, and the desire to police maternal behaviors.Monstrous Motherhood: Eighteenth-Century Culture and the Ideology of Domesticity

“Monstrous Motherhood” analyzes eighteenth-century motherhood in light of the inconsistencies among domestic ideology, narrative, and historical practice. If domesticity was so important, why is the good mother’s story absent or peripheral? What do the available maternal narratives suggest about domestic ideology and the expectations and enactment of motherhood? By focusing on literary and historical mothers in novels, plays, poems, diaries, conduct manuals, contemporary court cases, realist fiction, fairy tales, satire, and romance, Marilyn Francus reclaims silenced maternal voices and perspectives. She exposes the mechanisms of maternal marginalization and spectralization in eighteenth-century culture and revises the domesticity thesis.

“Monstrous Motherhood” will compel scholars in eighteenth-century studies, women’s studies, family history, and cultural studies to reevaluate a foundational assumption that has driven much of the discourse in their fields.

What are you waiting for?

20 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday – Monstrous Motherhood: Eighteenth-Century Culture and the Ideology of Domesticity by Marilyn Francus

  1. Haven’t heard of this one. Sounds interesting. Thanks for sharing!
    My WOW

  2. This one’s new to me! Sounds like it would be really interesting to read. Happy reading!

    MaryAnn | Chapter by Chapter
    Our WoW!

  3. This sounds like an interesting book. Thanks for sharing and for stopping by my blog.

  4. Tara @ Hobbitsies says:

    This isn’t my typical read, but I am intrigued by it! I’ve taken a lot of 18th century classes at college, but never anything that focused on motherhood, so I’m interested! I hope you enjoy it :)

    Tara @ Hobbitsies

    • I figured it probably wouldn’t be most people’s cup of tea. :D My undergrad is in history and I ended up in a lot of gender studies classes. It’s interesting to see how the dynamics have changed, even in the last 50 years.

  5. A new book to me too, sounds intriguing, nice choice, thanks for stopping by

  6. Monica says:

    Sounds so interesting. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  7. Thanks for helping me add to my TBR list!!! Happy Reading! Here is my WoW for this week!

  8. I haven’t heard of this one.
    Hope you get to read it soon! Brandi from Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  9. this is a new one for me. I like the cover.

Say something!

