Let’s get this party started!!

Hi!

My name is Adrienne and I’m sure you’ve figured this out, but I’m a librarian. I work for a small university in the Midwest. I love what I do but I don’t get to recommend books for fun very often. It’s much more likely that someone will want a book on a saint or physical therapy.

What do I like to read?

  • History and Historical Fiction – My background is in history. I do a lot of genealogical work and had a great experience working for the National Archives. I’m slowly making my way through “The Hemingses of Monticello”.
  • Southern Gothic – I really enjoy Sarah Allen Addison and Karen White. I could easily see myself moving south eventually.
  • Fantasy – “A Game of Thrones”, “Lord of the Rings”, anything by Neil Gaiman and so on. Right now I’m reading “World Without End”.
  • Sci-Fi – I think “The Hitchhiker’s Guide” would fall into this one. I’m a huge fan of Doctor Who and read things that are similar.
  • Memoirs – The more screwed up a person is, the better. “Sickened”, “Jesus Land”, “Driving With Dead People”. I *loved* “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened” by The Bloggess, Jenny Lawson.
  • Women’s Lit – This is a really vague category. I used to think of Women’s Lit as cheapie smut books and V.C. Andrews. Now I associate it more with books like “Far To Go”, “The Book of Bright Ideas”, and the authors Kate Morton and Kate Mosse.
  • Some YA Lit- Tamora Pierce and Garth Nix write beautiful books. I’ve started read the Mortal Instruments series recently as well.
  • Childhood Classics – I apparently didn’t read what everyone else read as kids, so now I’m making up for it. Beverly Cleary, “The Boxcar Children”, “The Rats of NIMH” and others.
  • Toddler Books – I have a toddler. I don’t think this requires any more explanation.

What don’t I like to read?

  • Romance – No thank you. I don’t care about anyone’s heaving bosoms. You will not find “Fifty Shades of Gray” on my To Read list.
  • Some of the classics – Anna Karenina, War and Peace, Charles Dickens. They make me weep with boredom.
  • Some YA Lit – I have no plans to read Twilight.

I will try to avoid reviewing books that are only available digitally, or only available through Amazon.

Say something!

